Buy John Sprung CDs Here

By simply clicking on the icon for the CD cover, you can “one-stop-shop” and order either “Side Effects,” or “Remember Me and Other Songs” (or both). If you do so (which we earnestly hope), please let us know what you think by e-mailing your comments to this website. John reads and responds to all correspondence, and welcomes hearing from fans.
Buy the CD
JOHN SPRUNG: Side Effects
click to order

Buy the CD
JOHN SPRUNG: Remember Me and Other Songs
click to order

Listen to John

AudioJohn on the radio:
Download and listen an mp3 or “Podcast” of the entire show by clicking here.

On May 22nd 2005, John was Ron Olesko’s guest on ”Traditions,” a folk music program on New Jersey’s NPR affiliate station, WFDU (89.1 FM).

John on the radio again!

On Sunday, September 13, 2008, three of John’s songs from his new CD “Side Effects” were played as part of Walt Graham’s Acoustic Connections program on Connecticut’s WSHU-FM.  The songs were, “The Gift,” “Social Insecurity,” and, as he has done for the past several years on the anniversary of the September 11th terror attacks, “Remember Me.” If you haven’t had a chance to hear this program, which includes music by Tony Rice, Al Stewart, and Robin & Linda Williams, it is available through bit-stream, by going to WSHU-FM and following the directions.  In introducing John’s songs, he said, “John is a folksinger from New York City, who writes great songs in the tradition of Phil Ochs.” As indicated above, all three songs are included on the new CD, “Side Effects.”

  On Saturday, July 29th, John’s song, “The Glory of Their Times,” was featured on Oscar Brand’s “Folksong Festival,” on WNYC in New York. The Folksong Festival is now in its 61st consecutive year on the air, hosted by the forever young Oscar Brand. Oscar had chosen a series of what he called “goodies,” songs of which he’s especially fond. On this particular program, Oscar played songs by, among others, The Union Boys (Pete Seeger, Burl Ives, Josh White, Tom Glazer, Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee) Leadbelly, Steve Free (singing “When the Leave are all Gone,” also, like John’s “Glory of Their Times,” from the “Fraternity Records 50th Anniversary” CD) and a couple by, of course, Oscar himself. As John put it, “Every folksinger from Woody Guthrie to the Weavers to Dylan has been on Oscar’s show, and every one who hasn’t wants to be. For me, having one of my songs played in such fine company on such a wonderful show, was something in which I took great pride.” The show can be heard on, by clicking onto Oscar Brand’s Folksong Festival, 7/29/06. Remember, the 50th Anniversary CD can be purchased from this website.

Audio Clips Are here!

Remember Me - by John SprungSome audio clips from the CD have been posted, in MP3 format. The clips are about a minute long, and go to the first bridge in the songs.

If you’d like to buy a CD, click here to send me an e-mail and I’ll get back to you. CDs are $15 each. Bulk orders (two or more) are $12.50 each.

You may also want to check out the website for John’s distributor at You can hear two-minute cuts from all the songs on the CD, order via credit card, plus write reviews. In addition, you can access a wide variety of other artists from the same or similar genres.

1. Remember Me (5:36) Listen
2. Bleaker On Bleeker (3:47)  
3. Sweet Lorena (2:39)  
4. Red Sox Lament (6:52) Listen
5. Mereddith Lee (4:17)  
6. Dark Side Of Broadway (4:50) Listen
7. Billy Jackson’s Birthday (6:16)  
8. Twilight Lady (5:34)  
9. Paying His Dues (3:08) Listen
10. Nancy Green (5:07) Listen
11. Frankie (3:41)  
12. Lou’s Job (3:54)  
13. Waiting (4:28)  
14. Lovers, Partners & Friends (3:13)  

John on the radio.

AudioJohn on the radio:
(Download an mp3 of the entire show by clicking here)

Recent live appearance on WFDU. On May 22d, John was Ron Olesko’s guest on “Traditions,” a folk music program on New Jersey’s NPR affiliate station, WFDU (89.1 FM). John began the show with “Leipzig, 1813,” a tongue-in-cheek birthday song about opera great Richard Wagner, on the 192nd anniversary of his birth.  In addition to introducing two other new songs, John provided an updated version of “The Red Sox Lament.” This was necessitated in recognition of the Sox’s astonishing comeback victory run in last year’s ALCS, which led to their first World Series Championsip in 87 years.  Ron played several other cuts from the CD “Remember Me and other Songs,” to which John provided some interesting background information.  For a full playlist, please go to This program may be heard in its entirety by clicking on the post entitled “Listen to John on the Radio.”

“Traditions,” now in its 25th year, is the longest running program on WFDU, and features a broad and diverse look into the world of folk music, both traditional and contemporary. Over the years, Ron’s guests have included some of the most important and well known voices in folk music.